BC Election 2013 Map & Guide


Laurie Throness BC Liberal

Live Results (Updated every 5 minutes). Last updated: 01:02:54 AM
Polls reporting: 130 of 130
Candidate Votes Popular
Laurie Throness BC Liberal
9533 49.41%
Gwen O'Mahony BC NDP
6884 35.68%
Michael Henshall BC Conservative
2093 10.85%
Ryan McKinnon Independent
782 4.05%

At a glance

BC Liberal Barry Penner took this riding in 2009 with 53 per cent of the vote, but the former attorney general and long-serving politician resigned in 2011 to take a job with a law firm.

In the subsequent byelection held April 2012, the BC NDP's Gwen O'Mahony took away the seat from the BC Liberal candidate Laurie Throness, as well as from John Martin, a BC Conservative at the time who will run for the Liberals in Chilliwack this May.

O'Mahony, who serves as the opposition critic for Skills Training and as deputy Advanced Education critic, will run to defend her riding this May. Throness will again represent the BC Liberals; in the past he served as chief of staff to federal politician Chuck Strahl in the departments of Agriculture, Aboriginal Affairs, and Transport.

Michael Henshall, who works in real estate with past experience in the commercial fishing industry, is the BC Conservative candidate. Ryan McKinnon is an independent.

Check out Doug Ward's in-depth profile on Chilliwack-Hope and Chilliwack, and the NDP's chances in May 2013, here.

Chilliwack-Hope was created in 2008 during the provincial boundary redistribution, borrowing from the old districts of Chilliwack-Kent, Yale-Lillooet, Chilliwack-Sumas, West Vancouver-Garibaldi and Maple Ridge-Mission.

Did you know?

This will be an interesting district to watch. While the BC NDP's Gwen O'Mahony took away Chilliwack-Hope from the Liberals in the April 2012 byelection, some have speculated that's because BC Liberal Laurie Throness and BC Conservative (at the time) John Martin split the vote. With Martin now running for the Liberals in another district, can Throness take it back? Or will Conservative Michael Henshall win enough votes to split it again?

Previous Election Results

Byelection on 4/19/2012
(Voter turnout: 41.12%)
Candidate Votes %
Gwen O'Mahony BC NDP 6022 41.9%
Laurie Throness BC Liberal 4593 32%
John Martin BC Conservative 3615 25.1%
Lewis Clarke Dahlby BC Libertarian 145 1%
B.C. General Election 2009
(Voter turnout: 51.9%)
Candidate Votes %
Barry Penner BC Liberal 8985 53.3%
Gwen O'Mahony BC NDP 5638 33.4%
Hans Mulder BC Conservative 1198 7.1%
Guy Durnin BC Green 951 5.6%

Telling Stats about Chilliwack-Hope

Census Data
Statistic Riding percentage B.C. average
Percent seniors, 2011 19% 15.8%
Percent families with kids 24 and under, 2011 43% 47.7%
Percent residents with non-English mother tongue, 2011 12% 26.4%
Top three non-English languages spoken at home, 2006 German: 3.5%, Dutch: 2.9%, French: 1.3% n/a
Average household income (before tax), 2006 $59,720 $67,675
Owners vs. renters, 2006 81/17 70/30

Help us make these riding pages richer. Email your big issues, story ideas or scuttlebutt here.

And for the latest Tyee election reporting, stay tuned to the Election Hook.

Riding Related Tyee News

B.C. ridings The Tyee is covering in the 2013 election