BC Election 2013 Map & Guide

Abbotsford West

Michael de Jong BC Liberal

Live Results (Updated every 5 minutes). Last updated: 01:02:54 AM
Polls reporting: 114 of 114
Candidate Votes Popular
Michael de Jong BC Liberal
8645 50.76%
Sukhi Dhami BC NDP
4978 29.23%
Paul Redekopp BC Conservative
1633 9.59%
Moe Gill Independent
973 5.71%
Stephen O'Shea BC Green
761 4.47%
Kerry-lynn Osbourne BC Excalibur
42 0.25%

At a glance

In 2009 BC Liberal Mike de Jong won this riding with 55 per cent of the vote, beating runner up Taranjit Purewal of the BC NDP handily. He is a long-time MLA, holding the old district of Abbotsford-Mount Lehman -- which makes up over half of his current district, Abbotsford West -- since 1996. De Jong has held several high profile positions in cabinet and will run again this election.

Moe Gill, an Abbotsford city councillor who had hoped to win the BC Liberal nomination for Abbotsford South, lost the nomination there. He failed to win party brass' support, according to Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer. Gill announced his candidacy as an independent for Abbotsford West in January 2013.

Other candidates this election include farmer Sukhi Dhami, who's in his mid-20s, for the BC NDP. Community-support worker and part-time actor, Paul Redekopp, is the BC Conservative candidate.

Stephen O'Shea, a supportive care worker for adults with developmental disabilities, is the BC Green candidate. Kerry-lynn Osbourne is a BC Excalibur candidate.

In the 2008 electoral boundary redistribution, this district became Abbotsford West; it is composed of Abbotsford-Mount and Abbotsford-Clayburn.

Did you know?

In 2006, 40 per cent of renters in this district spent more than 30 per cent of their income on shelter and 13 per cent of families received government transfers as a percentage of their income. Thirty-two per cent of low income families were supported by a female lone-parent at the time, and the median income in Abbotsford-West was under the provincial average of $42,230 at about $35,000.

Previous Election Results

B.C. General Election 2009
(Voter turnout: 52.9%)
Candidate Votes %
Mike de Jong BC Liberal 8992 55.8%
Taranjit Purewal BC NDP 5106 31.7%
Dalbir Benipal BC Conservative 1043 6.5%
Karen Marie Durant BC Green 970 6%

Telling Stats about Abbotsford West

Census Data
Statistic Riding percentage B.C. average
Percent seniors, 2011 17% 15.8%
Percent families with kids 24 and under, 2011 51% 47.7%
Percent residents with non-English mother tongue, 2011 37% 26.4%
Top three non-English languages spoken at home, 2006 Panjabi (Punjabi): 26%, German: 1.3%, Korean: 1.1% n/a
Average household income (before tax), 2006 $62,111 $67,675
Owners vs. renters, 2006 73/27 70/30

Help us make these riding pages richer. Email your big issues, story ideas or scuttlebutt here.

And for the latest Tyee election reporting, stay tuned to the Election Hook.

Riding Related Tyee News

B.C. ridings The Tyee is covering in the 2013 election