BC Election 2013 Map & Guide

Abbotsford South

Darryl Plecas BC Liberal

Live Results (Updated every 5 minutes). Last updated: 01:02:54 AM
Polls reporting: 134 of 134
Candidate Votes Popular
Darryl Plecas BC Liberal
8811 48.19%
John van Dongen Independent
5138 28.10%
Lakhvinder Jhaj BC NDP
3745 20.48%
Steve Finlay Marijuana
370 2.02%
Patricia Smith BC Excalibur
219 1.20%

At a glance

Former BC Liberal John van Dongen won the Abbotsford South seat in 2009 with 58 per cent of the vote, but in March 2012 he abruptly quit the party and joined the BC Conservatives. He then quit that party and became an independent candidate a few months later.

"I will work with anyone who wants to bring their resources and their capacity and their work ethic to the table to build a credible option for British Columbians," he told Bill Tieleman in Sept. 2012, adding that he would continue digging up information on the BC Rail case -- one reason he left the governing party.

Following the Liberals' nomination of criminologist Darryl Plecas as their candidate for the district, several members of the board of the Abbotsford South riding association resigned in protest.

Other candidates this election include van Dongen as an independent, and BC NDP candidate Lakhvinder Jhaj, who ran for the Boundary Similkameen seat in 2009.

Steve Finlay is a candidate for the BC Marijuana Party, and Patricia Smith is a candidate for the BC Excalibur Party, a party that champions Arthurian values.

The Tyee has identified Abbotsford South as one to watch this May. As reporter Doug Ward describes: "Incumbent MLA John van Dongen's candidacy as an independent candidate makes this an intriguing three-way race. The mercurial van Dongen quit the BC Liberal caucus last year after 15 years and then joined the Conservatives, which he abandoned months later. The BC Liberal machine nominated criminologist Darryl Plecas after preventing city councillor Moe Gill from running. The controversy in the South Asian community over the nomination could hurt Plecas in his battle with van Dongen and NDP candidate Lukhvinder Jhaj."

The district was created in 2008, and includes parts of the old districts of Abbotsford-Clayburn, Abbotsford-Mount Lehman and Chilliwack-Sumas.

Did you know?

Why did members of the BC Liberal riding association in Abbotsford South resign in November? As Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer revealed, the nomination of Darryl Plecas irritated association members, who largely favoured candidate hopeful Moe Gill. Gill supporters had seized control of the riding association after van Dongen left the party, but BC Liberal brass ultimately chose Plecas as the candidate. Gill has since announced his intention to run as an independent in Abbotsford West.

Previous Election Results

B.C. General Election 2009
(Voter turnout: 48.8%)
Candidate Votes %
John van Dongen BC Liberal 9566 58.5%
Bonnie Jasiver Rai BC NDP 4197 25.7%
Daniel Stephen Bryce BC Green 1244 7.6%
Gurcharan Dhaliwal BC Conservative 1019 6.2%

Telling Stats about Abbotsford South

Census Data
Statistic Riding percentage B.C. average
Percent seniors, 2011 15% 15.8%
Percent families with kids 24 and under, 2011 54% 47.7%
Percent residents with non-English mother tongue, 2011 28% 26.4%
Top three non-English languages spoken at home, 2006 Panjabi (Punjabi): 10.8%, German: 6.5%, Dutch: 1.4% n/a
Average household income (before tax), 2006 $61,903 $67,675
Owners vs. renters, 2006 66/34 70/30

Help us make these riding pages richer. Email your big issues, story ideas or scuttlebutt here.

And for the latest Tyee election reporting, stay tuned to the Election Hook.

Riding Related Tyee News

B.C. ridings The Tyee is covering in the 2013 election